The picturesque little village of Haihoutes or at least whatever remains of it is situated on the road from the Asclepeion towards Zia just before reaching Assomatos. The village used to be the eastern quarter of the village of Asfendiou and is abandoned for the most part although a very popular taverna/mezedopoleio has managed to rekindle a certain interest in the area. The owners of the taverna have also created a little museum and you can also visit the church of Aghios Dimitrios.
The name of Haihoutes may refer to the Armenians that used to live in this area at one time (Armenians are called Haik). It is more probable however that this settlement took its name from the family name of the first settlers and landowners of the region. The Bavarian archaeologist Ludwig Ross, visiting Kos in 1844, identified Haihoutes as a village of blacks (“negroes”, maybe soldiers who had served with the Egyptian troops or Turco-Cretans).
(source: V. Hatzivasileiou, History of the Island of Kos)